Haeʼ (Welcome)

This site is dedicated to serve as a communications link for our tribal community, both near and far. We hope to help maintain our culture, our language, and our history.
More content will be added over time, and so please visit often. We hope you enjoy your journey through our site.

The Iroquois, also known as the Six Nations, were a confederacy of the Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, Cayugas, Senecas and Tuscaroras. The League stretched from eastern New York to northeastern Ohio and from southern Ontario to northern Pennsylvania with an adjacent portion of Quebec.

Before 1792, a group of Senecas left the state of New York and moved west to the Sandusky River in Ohio. They formed their own political system making them completely separate from their New York counterpart.

In 1830, the Indian removal Act was passed and signed into law. From 1830 to 1843 the United States government would attempt to move Indians west of the Mississippi. The Sandusky Senecas sold their reservation in 1831 and moved to a new reservation in Indian Territory.

With the signing of the 1838 Buffalo Creek Treaty, by 1846 additional Senecas and Cayugas would join their relatives in Oklahoma.

Once in Oklahoma, the tribe came under the supervision of the Quapaw Indian Agency. The Enabling Act of Oklahoma in 1906, followed by statehood gave the Seneca-Cayuga tribe citizenship. In 1936 the Thomas Rogers Oklahoma Indian Welfare Act permitted the tribe to form federal corporations with constitutions and by-laws. On the 26th of April, 1937, under the leadership of Chief Thomas Jefferson Armstrong the tribal constitution was prepared and adopted.

The Seneca-Cayuga Nation are their descendants and remain sovereign and independent.

Nya:wëh sgë:nö’ (I'm thankfull you are well)